[-]
  
  
 [-]
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
 [-]
   
   
   
   
   
  
  
  
 [-]
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
  
  
 
 
 
[-]
  
  
  
  
  
  
Updated on 1/17/2020
Version 2019.4
Manage User Rights
Direct link to topic in this publication:

In general, the Process Portal and the Client use the same user rights. In the beginning, users have no rights in the FireStart System so they can't see any models or workflows. Therefore you learn how to permit access to specific processes or scopes, on this topic. These permissions are based on the Active Directory's hierarchic system. With FireStart you have the possibility to assign rights not only to a single user but also to an Active Directory group. 

  • Workflows cannot be authorized separately, they always inherit the permissions of the specific model. 
  • Denial is always stronger than a permission. For example user scope A is permitted and at the same time, the sub-scope B (parent scope is A) is denied. This means that the user can view all models of scope A but not those from sub-scope B. 
  • Tasks do not have to be permitted separately, nevertheless, a user can participate in a workflow without having permissions to this process.

Types of Permissions

There are 2 different kinds of permissions, namely reading and writing. With reading, the user can take a look at the models but must not change them or create a new one. Writing means, you are allowed to create and modify models, which also means that writing implicates the right for reading.

Managing Permissions

Only as FireStart administration you are allowed to enter the configuration menu in order to manage user permissions. 

Set user permissions

You can find the Permission Settings in Menu - Preferences, and there you choose Permissions. 

The following can be displayed here: 

  • Image
  • Name
  • Login Name
  • Permissions

Now you have to click Add so that the dialog for creating a user permission opens. If a user already has some permissions set, you can open the dialog again by clicking the Pen.

After that, you switch to the Permissions tab and with a click on Scope Allow Permission, you can choose for which scope you want to permit the user.



Warning Hint!
Please note that the scopes are split by the designers. If you have scopes with the same name, be careful to choose the scope within the intended designer. 

With a click on the OK Button, the wizard closes and you have an entry in Permissions. The default permission is Read Published, but with a click on the entry, you can modify the default value. Permission levels and optional permissions can be selected to your likes in the pop-up. The buttons Apply Permissions (Name + Level) and Apply Permissions (Name) can be used to set the current permissions to other areas with the same name and/or level. On hovering the mouse over those buttons, a more detailed description pops up. 

After you finished click Apply to save changes and then Close the dialog. 

The permission entry has been made. But with a double-click, the granted permissions can be changed at any time. The moment the permission is displayed, the user gains the right for writing. 



Previous  |  Next